Return to Headlines

Outstanding School Volunteer Awards

2016-2017 Outstanding School Volunteer Awards 

We proud to announce the finalists for the 2016-2017 Outstanding School Volunteer Awards. These individuals help to make our district one of the best in the state. I am thankful to them and all of our volunteers and mentors working every day in our schools.


The finalists are:

Adult Category

* Mr. Brent Edson (Buck Lake Elementary School)

* Mrs. Dulce Meneses-Hernandez (Desoto Trail Elementary School)

* Mrs. Tricia Rich (Lawton Chiles High School)


Mentor Category

* Ms. Jacqueline Davis (Griffin Middle School)

* Mr. Walter Kelly (Sealey Math and Science Magnet School)

* Mr. Ernie Sims, III (Pineview Elementary School)


Senior Category

* Mr. Michael Blair (Roberts Elementary School)

* Mr. Charlie Hill (Pineview Elementary School)

* Mrs. Rosemarie Reenock (Hawks Rise Elementary School)


Youth Category

* Miss Kacyn Black (Ft. Braden School)

* Mr. Shawn Holloway (James S. Rickards High School)

* Mr. Kamal Presley (Pineview Elementary School)


The finalists were selected by a committee of community representatives who reviewed “blind applications” with no identifying information on the nomination forms. The winner from each category will be announced at the Annual School Volunteer Appreciation and Awards Ceremony on Friday, April 14, 2017.