Return to Headlines

12/13/16 New Principals Announced

New Principals Announced

Posted by Christopher Petley, Communications Manager, December 13, 2016 6:10pm

Tallahassee, FL— during the December 13th, 2016 meeting, the Leon County School Board approved the superintendent’s recommendations to appoint two new principals. The principals will assume their responsibilities on January 3, 2017.  

Kate Sullivan Elementary

Pam Stephens has spent the previous thirty-five years at Kate Sullivan Elementary School as a teacher and administrator. Mrs. Stephens will be retiring at the end of this week.

“It has been an honor to work with Pam through the years and to witness her compassion, sincerity and love of her students while leading her school community,” said Superintendent Rocky Hanna. “I speak for our entire district, and the thousands of students, parents and Sullivan employees by saying thank you for your service. We wish her nothing but the best as she begins her retirement.”

Michael Bryan is being appointed principal of Kate Sullivan Elementary School. Mr. Bryan most recently served as an Assistant Principal at Leon High School. Mr. Bryan has also served as an Assistant Principal at Bellevue and Nims Middle Schools.

Deerlake Middle

Scotty Crowe is being appointed principal of Deerlake Middle School. Mr. Crowe has previously served as the principal of Montford Middle as well as Gilchrist and Hartsfield Elementary Schools. In the interim, Mr. Crowe’s responsibilities will be handled by Mrs. Gillian Gregory. Mrs. Gregory has served in the district as a Director and Divisional Director since 2012. Prior to her current responsibilities, Mrs. Gregory served as the principal of Godby High School and the Leon County Virtual School.