• History of W.T. Moore 

    W. T. Moore Elementary School was opened in the fall of 1968. It began with an enrollment of 720 children, grades K-6, and a staff of thirty-seven. The name of the school was chosen to honor Walter Taylor Moore, Jr., one of Tallahassee's respected community leaders. Walter T. Moore was a man who made significant contributions to the educational well being of the children of Leon County. An attorney and a judge, Mr. Moore also served as Chairman of the School Board for 18 years. He cared deeply for the children of this area and worked hard for the advancement of education.

    W. T. Moore was one of the first truly integrated school and the first open concept school in the district. The open concept was designed to facilitate the implementation of team teaching techniques. The classroom areas consisted of seven large learning centers and two self-contained rooms which the faculty decided to identify as centers E, D, U, C, A, T, I, O, N .... spelling the word EDUCATION.

    The Hearing Impaired Program began at Moore in 1970. The program initially served seven counties. A new addition was dedicated in the spring of 1980, identified as Center M, in honor of Mrs. Jessie Moon who was principal of W. T. Moore from 1968 until her retirement in 1979. Mrs. Freda Wynn became principal in August 1979 and served until April 1986. Mrs. Shirley Eikeland was principal from 1986 to 1993. During Mrs. Eikeland's tenure, a new addition to the school opened in the fall of 1992. The media center, music suite, and pre-kindergarten classroom are located in this annex. In the Fall of 1993 Dr. Alice Caswell assumed the leadership reins until December of 1994. Mrs. D. J. Wright served as principal until she was selected to be Executive Director of Elementary Education for Leon County Schools in July of 2003. Woody Hildebrandt served as principal until May of 2006. Mrs. Sue Kraul served as principal until May of 2016. Kerri Anderson is currently serving as principal of W. T. Moore.