Award History

  • Glenn-Howell Distinguished Educator of the Year

    This award is named for Devurn Glenn, Ph.D. and Aquilina C. Howell, both retired educators. Dr. Glenn for whom the Devurn Glenn District Office Complex at 2757 W. Pensacola Street is named, was a classroom teacher, school-level administrator and District-level administrator. He served as the first African American Assistant Superintendent of Schools for Personnel for the Leon County School District. Mrs. Howell, “Aquilina” as she was affectionately called and for whom the Aquilina C. Howell Instructional Service Center at 3955 W. Pensacola Street is named, was a classroom teacher and guidance counselor. She held District-level positions as supervisor of guidance, secondary education supervisor, and director of secondary education. She was appointed the first female African American Assistant Superintendent of Schools for Instruction for the Leon County School District. During their careers, both of these fine educators touched the lives of thousands of young people and adults alike. They were faithful, committed, and dedicated to serving this school District and the greater Tallahassee community. This District is pleased to recognize them as outstanding role models. Mrs. Howell passed away on January 21, 2000.

    For many years, the Florida Department of Education conducted the Ida S. Baker Distinguished Minority Educator Award as a statewide recognition. When it was discontinued in the late 1990s, then-Superintendent William J. Montford felt it important to continue this process as a local recognition supported by the Leon County School District. The founding chairperson of this award was Dr. Malinda W. Jackson-James. 

    School Related Employee of the Year

    This program recognizes outstanding education support personnel for the significant contributions they make to their schools and district school systems. The program honors one state representative and four finalists. In accordance with Florida Statute section 1012.21(5), the Florida Department of Education provides coordination and technical assistance in the nomination, selection, and recognition processes.

    Nomination packets are sent to district superintendents at the beginning of each school year. Selection processes may differ by district. Only one nomination may be submitted by a district to the state and only the superintendent may make the nomination.

    All non-certified, non-instructional educational support personnel who serve at the school or district level (such as teacher aides, library aides, bookkeepers, secretaries and clerks, bus drivers, food service staff, custodians, building maintenance workers, warehouse workers, mechanics, nurses, and office managers) may be nominated. Nominees may be full-time or part-time employees. Instructional and administrative personnel as defined in Section 1012.01(2) (a) – (d) and (3). Certified administrative staff and contract employees are not eligible.

    Teacher of the Year

    The Leon County Schools Teacher of the Year recognition program has been in place since 1968. For 52 years we have been honoring one teacher that represents the best of what teaching is all about. This program recognizes and honors the contributions of outstanding classroom teachers who have demonstrated a superior capacity to inspire a love of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities. Each year, individual schools across the District honor one of their teachers as the school's Teacher of the Year. These teachers are entered into the Leon County Schools Teacher of the Year program. The top five teachers in the District are then interviewed by a District-based committee composed of past Teachers of the Year, District administrators, parent leaders and community members who select the winner. Leon County Schools has more than 2,000 teachers and its highest honor is to be named Teacher of the Year.

    Browse the emoji picker to find the best characters easily. Sort by category or search by name.